June 30 – Rome, Athens, Dublin, Cairo…It could go to a poor dog’s head!


     If you wondered why no scratchings the past few weeks…I’ve been traveling.  The Geezer decided he couldn’t be without my advice and counseling for three weeks, so I got to go on a combination book introduction tour and vacation.
     The places we went!  The things we saw!  Dublin!  Cairo!  Athens!  Rome!  And that was all before we left Georgia!  Well, we didn’t stop in all those places, we went through them.  Well, that isn’t exactly correct, we were close to them…..  Errrr, truthfully, we saw their names on road signs.
     Where we did go…and stop…was impressive to a canine like me.  There were the big places:  Atlanta, Chattanooga, Nashville, Louisville, Ann Arbor, Cincinnati, Lexington, Knoxville, Asheville, Columbia, Hilton Head, Savannah, Jacksonville and Gainesville.  And the little places: Elizabethtown, Coldwater, Ludington and Eatonton.  I’ve got some great stories about many of them.
     I met fascinating people like Lance, Edward, Sarah, Ranger Lee and the man in the art studio in Chattanooga.  Of course, we visited old friends and relatives:  D3, Natalia, Bo, Denny, Dorothy, Chet, Betty, Tom, Jim, Judy, Pete, Sandy ( a human version), Orson, Martha, and Jeanne and Bob.  I’ve got lots to tell about them.
    We visited Chickamauga the oldest military park in the US.  If we had stopped and bought just one bottle at all the wineries and distilleries we passed, the Geezer would have enough alcohol to last him until the year 2114.  (He’s not much of a drinker.)  And, at the Tennessee Welcome Station on I-75, I met Romanski, a handsome male Golden Retriever.  It was love at first sight.  We ran, we frolicked, we panted together, then we had to part.  I gave him my URL, but you know how those summer romances are – they never seem to work out.
     The trip has given me an inexhaustible supply of information to write about.  Like Joel Chandler Harris’ home, Eatonton, Georgia and the fine people we met there.  I have some great recipes to pass on in the weeks to come.  And I’ll tell you about the Civil War battlefield we visited.  And the people at the Geezer’s high school reunion.  And the motels that we stayed in that had water dripping from leaks in the ceiling, fights in the parking lots, exploding coffee makers, and on, and on, and on.  And the Geezer’s fishing in Michigan.  Yes, there are three things that are inevitable…death…taxes…and…the Geezer fishing if there is a body of water larger than a bath tub near him.
     Ahhhhh, I’ll have to wrap this up.  The human’s are starting to unload the car and I need to be there to supervise.  You know the species.  They’d probably leave my pillow and dish until last, like my things are less important than their suitcases and the cooler.  The amount of patience required to deal with humans!  I have to keep murmuring under my breath, “Be kind to inferiors,” so I keep my cool.  Thankfully, I reassure myself that…at least my humans aren’t of that slowest and lowest humanoid subspecies of all, humanus politicianus.

www.dlhavlin-author.com

###    

5 thoughts on “June 30 – Rome, Athens, Dublin, Cairo…It could go to a poor dog’s head!

  1. Sandy, your trip sounds amazing and very interesting, too! I had wondered and worried about you, because you hadn’t barked online for a while. I took a much shorter trip, but to no book tour acclaim since my book remains in my head and refuses to come out. I did, however, encounter a few fascinating people and canines, too, including a talented dog I photographed here: http://catherinesherman.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/leap-of-faith-in-the-wisconsin-dells/

    Funny that you saw so many “Old World” cities in Georgia.

  2. Wow!! Sweet Sandy sounds like you had a great vacation. We will be looking forward to hearing your stories about your travels. Glad to see you back…you were missed! Hugs and nose kisses

  3. It sounds like you had a great time, I just cannot wait for all the stories. Sandy please tell the geezer if he ever gets to the northeast I would come out and meet him or be honored to have you all over and take a lovely walk with Sampson and Delilah. 😉

  4. Once you’ve settled comfortably back home, do share with us stories of your summer road trip. Would love to hear more about your romantic encounter with Romanski (what a name, lol)!

Leave a Reply

