I go to the State Fair! That’s in Florida!


What does a canine do at the fair?  The Geezer says I’m going with him and Mrs. G.  He’s going to be doing his author thing at the Florida State Fair this weekend.  Something about signing books at the Cracker Country Store this coming Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  That’s fine for him but how about me?  And Mrs. G.  What can the two of us do?

I asked the Geezer, “Okay, what do you suggest I do?  I’d like to spread my wings.  Do new things.”

“Hmmmmm,” he said as he scratched his old cranium trying to awaken the remaining gray matter.  “You could cruise through the arts and crafts.

“Arts and crafts?  What would I do with them? There’s not much room on my pillow to decorate.”

“I see your point.  You could visit the live stock displays.  They’re all the best of their breeds.  Just think of all the new four-footed connections you could make.”

“I don’t think so.  Have you ever tried talking to a cow?  They’re only slightly more intelligent than your average politician.  Talk about being at the bottom of the smarts garbage can.  As far as being attractive…I’d only be interested in a dog show.  Do they have one there?”

“Probably not, Sandy.”  He scratched his head more furiously trying to accelerate his thought process.  “Oh…I know…you can take in the rides.  They twist, turn, spin, fly…wow!  That would be a great new experience.”

“I don’t know…”

“Oh don’t worry!  As long as you don’t eat all the food that’s available for hundreds of vendors you’ll be fine.  Candy Cotton, Corn Dogs, Funnel Cakes, Fried Ice Cream…”

“Food?  Vendors?  Hundreds of?  Candy Cotton, Corn Dogs, Funnel Cakes, Fried Ice Cream.  No problem, I’ll be fine,” I said.

Life is great at times.

How did 1928 Hurricane on Lake Okeechobee influence LVT's?

How did 1928 Hurricane on Lake Okeechobee influence LVT’s?

February 8-10th,  11AM-4:00 PM

February 8-10th, 11 AM-4:00 PM

Visit me at Cracker Country Store

Visit me at Cracker Country Store 

One thought on “I go to the State Fair! That’s in Florida!

Leave a Reply

