Advice – They’re talking about me … So what!


 

Secrets? Oreo & The Geezer in conference

Secrets? Oreo & The Geezer in conference

Do you ever get the feeling that people are talking about you? I saw Oreo my feline friend and The Geezer in a secretive conversation yesterday. I watched them whisper back and forth, glance around the room, and exhibit all the signs of two individuals engaged in a conspiracy. My vantage point was from under the dining table, a place hidden from their probing eyes.

I just KNEW they were talking about me! What had I done? What was wrong? Had I rolled in something more offensive than normal? Was my breath bad from the garlic on the left-over Italian steak scraps? Was I snoring in my sleep again? Then I considered that it might be something my human could be planning. Was he and Mrs.G going off on a trip? Leaving me behind? Would the pet-sitter be my only companion? For how long? Were they taking me to the vet? Shots? Did I have a mysterious malady? Was it Serious?

After their conversation broke up, I began to stew and fret. What disaster was about to befall me? I spent a sleepless night. This morning I looked at Oreo and the Geezer suspiciously and gave them the silent treatment. To my chagrin, they didn’t seem to notice. Finally, I couldn’t stand it any more. I cornered Oreo and asked, “Old Buddy, I know something is wrong – tell me, I can take it.”

Oreo looked puzzled. He asked, “What are you talking about?”

“I saw you and the Geezer talking about me on the stairs the other day.” I tried to be contrite. “I sorry.”

Oreo laughed. “We weren’t talking about you. The Geezer was asking for suggestions. He’s looking for ideas for things he might give Mrs. G for their anniversary. He said he’d asked you also. You have a case of Canine Paranoidus?”

I remembered he had and I said, “Oh.” Where was my red rubber nose, my pointed hat, huge shoes, and clown make up? I felt foolish.

The Geezer wrote a piece of advice in one of his books that one of his characters gave to another – “It’s not important what others say or think about you as long as you’re happy with what you say and do. You can’t control their judgment … you can only control your actions that they base those judgments on … and, most importantly, only to the degree to which you want.” I have to remember that.

 # # # # #

4 thoughts on “Advice – They’re talking about me … So what!

  1. It is SO tempting to think when someone is staring at you or whispering around you or acting differently than normal that whatever is going on is about you – and yet it usually is not. I am still fighting to learn that lesson. I suspect I may have completely learned that lesson about the time I turn 90.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  2. I love the last paragraph, such wise words. I am working on living that way too. I have found out that I can’t change other people and the ones that don’t approve aren’t worth my time or concerns. Susan

  3. hello sandy its dennis the vizsla dog hay maybe they wer planning yore serprize birthday party!!! it cud happen!!! altho if the cat is involvd then yoo kan ekspekt a lot of prezzents involving fish!!! ok bye

Leave a Reply

